Keeping Santa Alive

Interesting article from upstate New York gives some great ways to get an additional discount on your holiday shopping to keep Santa alive for the kiddies.

Many retail stores will allow salespeople and managers to make price adjustments. All you need to do is be nice, charming, and don’t get frustrated if they’re not willing to budge. Below are five ways that you can take advantage of a holiday discount that others may not get.

1. You’re a repeat customer. Tell them, “Don’t forget to add in that frequent shopper discount. Just check my credit card account.”

2. You’re buying something in bulk. “Hey, with 37  George Foreman Grills, you get another 10% off, right?”

3. You’re buying the last one of something or it’s a floor sample. “You’re going to give me another 15% off because other people have used this toilet, right?”

4. You decide to buy more than you really need. “I only have to buy one new kidney, but I’m getting two. That ought to be worth a little discount.”

5. You could buy it elsewhere. “I could get this exact same washer and dryer at Burger King (or appropriate retail store) for $20 less, but… [you’re nicer than their salesperson OR I’d rather not use the gas to get over there].”

I’ve modified the tips a bit to be more appropriate, but you can check out the full document here.

Happy shopping, and go out there and enjoy those killer discounts!

~ by trentgillaspie on December 2, 2008.

One Response to “Keeping Santa Alive”

  1. “All you need to do is be nice, charming, and don’t get frustrated if they’re not willing to budge”

    That’s how I get all my deals! Like my TV I got last May, and my phones I “bought” from AT&T

Leave a Reply

 
